Early Career Scientist Committee

Early Career Scientists (ECS) make up a significant portion of the SOLAS community. SOLAS initiates the ECS Committee to better represent the unique insights and opinions of this critical group at international levels, and to provide future generation scientists with networking and collaboration opportunities.

The SOLAS Early Career Scientists (ECS) Committee acts as a strategic and operational body to coordinate and champion early career activities within the framework of SOLAS science under the supervision of the SOLAS Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) and International Project Office (IPO).

ECS Committee Contacts

Joan Llort (ECS Committee Chair)

Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain

joan.llort@bsc.es
Website
Expertise: ocean bgc, aerosols, biological carbon pump

Andrea Baccarini

Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland

andrea.baccarini@epfl.ch
Website
Expertise: atmospheric chemistry, aerosols, field measurements

Julie Dinasquet

Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA

jdinasquet@ucsd.edu
Website
Expertise: microbial VOC cycling, bioaerosol, atmospheric deposition

Patrick Duke

University of Victoria, Canada

pjduke@ucalgary.ca
Website

Expertise: air-sea gas flux, carbon cycle, machine learning

Luisa Galgani

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany

lgalgani@geomar.de
Website
Expertise: ocean bgc, sea-surface microlayer, marine gels & microplastics

Douglas Hamilton

North Carolina State University, USA

dshamil3@ncsu.edu
Website

Expertise: Earth system modelling, natural aerosols, wildfires

Kerneels Jaars

North-West University, South Africa

kerneels.jaars@nwu.ac.za
Website
Expertise: atmospheric chemistry, atmosphere/biosphere interaction, atmospheric deposition

Minako Kurisu

Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Japan

kurisum@jamstec.go.jp
Website
Expertise: atmocpheric chemistry, ocean chemistry, trace metals

Karin Kvale

GNS Science, New Zealand

k.kvale@gns.cri.nz
Website

Expertise: ocean bgc, climate modelling, ecological microplastic impacts

Inés Mercedes Leyba

Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

ines.leyba@cima.fcen.uba.ar
Website

Expertise: air-sea interaction, sea surface temperature, South Atlantic

Tanya Marshall

University of Cape Town, South Africa

mrstan001@myuct.ac.za
Website

Expertise: ocean bgc, nitrogen cycling and fluxes

Raquel Oliveira

Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

oliveira.raquel_3@posgraduacao.uerj.br
Website
Expertise: ocean bgc, air-sea CO2 fluxes, remote sensing

Morgane Perron

Université de Bretagne Occidentale, France

morgane.perron@univ-brest.fr
Website
Expertise: atmospheric bgc, trace metals, Southern Hemisphere

Yee Jun Tham

Sun Yat-sen University, China

thamyj@mail.sysu.edu.cn
Website
Expertise: atmospheric chemistry, halogen cycling, chemistry in air-sea gas exchange

Liselotte Tinel

IMT Nord Europe, France

Liselotte.tinel@imt-nord-europe.fr
Website

Expertise: volatile organic compounds, surface microlayer, iodine

Lei Xue

State University of New York, USA

lxue@esf.edu
Website
Expertise: marine photochemistry, marine organosulfur and carbon cycle, sea spray aerosols

Sponsors

Funders